top of page


The TREL project partners comprise eight higher education institutions and three schools. 


The University of South-Eastern Norway (USN) is a young university, combining labour market needs with development in the areas of science and the humanities. It is Norway’s fourth-largest university, with 1900 staff members and 17000 students, spread over eight campuses. USN is the coordinating institution responsible for managing TREL. Students at USN are required to actively engage in research in teacher education programs at USN, and the university is one of the largest providers in Norway of programs for teacher education (hence, its participation in TREL).

tallinn uni_edited.jpg

Tallinn University is a modern and dynamic research university in Estonia with a leading role in promoting an intelligent lifestyle through education, research, and a unique collaboration across disciplines. The university is a partner in 14 European Union regional programme projects and coordinates one of them: Learning Layers. It also participates in the EU Horizon 2020 framework programme both as a partner and as a coordinator. The university has agreements with 43 partner universities in 21 countries and more than 490 Erasmus+ partnership agreements.


Oslo Metropolitan University is Norway’s third-largest university, with nearly 22,000 students and 2,200 employees, and is home to some of Norway’s largest and oldest educational programmes. The university is also a hub of research and technological innovation aimed at strengthening and sustaining the Norwegian welfare state.


The University of Gothenburg (GU) is a multidisciplinary university that dates back to 1891. GU consists of eight faculties and 38 departments and also has a large number of research and centres of expertise spanning several academic disciplines. These disciplines serve as a meeting point for students, researchers and representatives from the commercial, industrial, and public sectors. Around 49000 students and 6000 staff study and work at GU, making it one of the largest universities in Northern Europe.


Kaunas University of Technology (KTU) originates from the University of Lithuania founded in Kaunas on 16 February 1922. Since its establishment, KTU has played an important role in the building of the identity of the regional and national academic environment, fostering and preserving cultural and ethical values, and promoting the development of society, education, research and innovation. KTU currently has approximately 10000 students and 2000 academic employees across nine faculties and eight research institutes.


The University of Stavanger (UiS) is a public, non-profit higher education institution situated on the southwest coast of Norway. The university has 12000 students and 1600 faculty and staff. Six faculties and one archaeological museum comprise its main units, together with a number of departments, research centres, and networks within the fields of health and welfare, energy and technology, education, performing arts, social sciences and the humanities, hotel management, business administration and media production. There is a core focus on developing innovation and entrepreneurship in all aspects of education and research, which in 2012 led to the university's membership in the European Consortium of Innovative Universities (ECIU).


Malmö University (MaU) is a young, urban and inclusive higher education institution with 24000 students. MaU reflects the local and regional community, embraces diversity as a dimension of quality in education and research, educates students for life-long learning to become agents of change for a sustainable global society, and has a commitment to collaborative social impact-driven research and education.


The University of Latvia (UL) is the largest public university in Latvia. Research is conducted in over 50 research fields, which represent four main areas of inquiry: arts and the humanities, natural sciences, medicine and health sciences, and social sciences, with about 1000 WoS and Scopus scientific publications a year.


Lier Videregående Skole (Lier Upper-Secondary School) is a vocational school situated near Drammen, Norway's fifth largest city. The school has approximately 630 students and 130 teachers and staff. Lier VG offers a variety of inclusive educational programs, (e.g., electrical engineering and computer technology, healthcare, child and youth development, sales, service and tourism), as well as supplementary studies that qualify students for higher education.


Seinäjoen Lukio is a large upper-secondary school in Western Finland, with around 900 students. Seinäjoki is a typical Finnish rural city with approximately 60000 inhabitants. As a major regional player, Seinäjoki Lukio is able to offer its students a variety of subjects, based on which the students can build their own learning paths. Almost all students go on to pursue university studies upon graduation.


Drammen Videregående Skole (Drammen VG) is a large upper-secondary school in Norway which specializes in preparing students for university. It has 1300 students and a staff of approximately 200. The school is situated in Drammen, a city with a population of about 100000. Drammen VG offers a wide range of subjects: social studies, languages, science, business and entrepreneurialism, art and design or sports. After graduating from Drammen VG, most students go on to colleges or universities in Norway and other countries. The school also has a vocational program specializing in sales and tourism.

bottom of page